President Unveils Restored Statue of King Keerthi Sri Rajasinghe at Walukaramaya, Colpetty

A momentous occasion unfolded today (12) at the Walukaramaya Buddhist Temple in Colpetty as President Ranil Wickremesinghe presided over the unveiling of the restored metal statue of King Keerthi Sri Rajasinghe. The event, held under the auspices of Vichitra Bhanaka Ven. Maharagama Nanda Thero, commemorating his 70th birth anniversary and marked a significant milestone in the restoration of the temple’s sacred artefacts.

The restoration of the metal statue of King Keerthi Sri Rajasinghe was made possible through the generous support of Thai donors, notably ascetic Luangphor Rishi Keth Kaw, under the guidance of Ven. Prakru Udom Dammanukul Vibanpaw Thero of the Supreme Patriarch descent of Thailand. The unveiling ceremony saw President Ranil Wickremesinghe unveiling the metallic statue, symbolizing a renewed dedication to preserving cultural heritage.

In tandem with this momentous occasion, statues of Most Ven. Welivita Saranankara Sangharaja Thero and Most Ven. Upali Maha Thero of Siam were also restored and unveiled by Ven. Maharagama Nanda Thero and Ven. Prakru Udom Dammanukul Vibanpaw Thero, further enriching the spiritual ambiance of the temple shrine.

Following the unveiling, Mahanayaka of the Sri Kalyani Samagri Dharma Maha Sangha Sabha, Mahopadhyaya Ven. Malwane Pagngnasarabhidhana Maha Nayaka Thero, led the assembled gathering in reciting the five precept, while Ven. Maharagama Nanda Thero extended a warm welcome to the attendees and delivered an inspiring sermon.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe expressed gratitude by presenting commemorative gifts to Ven. Prakru Udom Dammanukul Vibanpaw Thero, ascetic Luangphor Rishi Keth Kaw of Thailand and Professor Nuwan Kavinda Wijesinghe for their invaluable contributions to Buddhism in Sri Lanka and Thailand. In acknowledgment of his role, a special souvenir was also presented to the President.

The event was graced by the esteemed presence of the Maha Sangha from both Sri Lanka and Thailand, including Ven. Dr. Maitipe Wimalasara Thero, Chief Incumbent of the Parama Dhamma Chethiya Privena, Ratmalana; Ven. Amandoluwe Dhammarathana Thero, Chief Incumbent of Bodhirathnaramaya, Katunayake; Ven. Uduwela Kolitha Thero of Walukaramaya, Colpetty; Minister of Buddha Sasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs Vidura Wickramanayaka; Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Presidential Staff Mr. Sagala Ratnayaka; Member of Parliament Wajira Abeywardana; former minister Ravi Karunanayake; former member of parliament Dickson J. Perera and members of the donation council of the temple.