The President Takes Centre Stage at the State Drama Award Ceremony

The grand ceremony for the 2022 Golden Jubilee Awards Ceremony of the State Drama, celebrating the contributions of artists and craftsmen to the enriching tapestry of Sri Lankan performing arts, took place yesterday afternoon (19) at the Maharagama National Youth Service Council Auditorium. The event was presided over by President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Organized collaboratively by the Ministry of Religious and Cultural Affairs, the Department of Cultural Affairs and the State Drama Advisory Council of the Sri Lanka Arts Council, the 50th State Drama Festival – 2022 award ceremony recognized outstanding achievements in the field. President Ranil Wickremesinghe honoured M. M. Rauf and Prof. Sunanda Mahendra for their remarkable contributions to Sri Lankan theatre.

In addition to these accolades, awards were bestowed upon Hiran Abeysekera, M. Saphir, Sujeeva Pathinisekara, Subuddhi Lakmali, and Nalan Mendis, acknowledging their valuable services in advancing local drama. The ceremony also marked the launch of a commemorative stamp in honour of the Golden Jubilee State Drama Festival.

Mr. Vidura Wickremanayake, Minister of Buddhasasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs, presented a special souvenir to President Ranil Wickremesinghe. Simultaneously, an exhibition showcasing the history of drama and performing arts captivated attendees, including President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The event, attended by dignitaries such as Venerable Rambukkana Siddhartha Thera, Chairman of the State Literary Advisory Council, Yasintha Gunawardena, Director of the Department of Cultural Affairs, and Parakrama Niriella, Chairman of the State Drama Advisory Council, celebrated the rich tapestry of Sri Lankan performing arts.